Rallysprint 2014

[vc_row][vc_column width=”1/1″][vc_column_text]

Final Update No.4

Dramatic finish for Kerry crews at the 2014 Kerry Motor Club Rallysprint at Ballybeggan Park, Tralee.

Moyvane’s Mike O Connor retires on the final loop whilst chasing overall winner Pat O Connell. O Connor’s Mitsubishi Evo 2 ground to a halt only yards from the finish line.

Pat O Connell navigated by Grace O Connell had a start to finish win in his Evo 9 which secured back to back Rallysprint victories to take The O Connell Jewellers Perpetual Trophy back to Cashel,Co. Tipperary.

Matt Shinnors took 2nd overall and great delight for Tralee Crew Darren Young/Sean Walsh who claimed 3rd overall in their Honda Civic, a massive achievement in a 2 wheel drive car.

Kilcummin’s Tommy Daly finished 10th overall in the impressive JB Buggy.

Killarney’s Charles & Charlie O Neill took 1st in Class 2 while Kenmare’s Edward Gibbons/Denis O Sullivan took 2nd in Class 3.

Tralee’s PJ O Dowd & Paul Delaney finished 37th overall while Graham Kelliher/Tim Kelliher finished 40th. Both crew’s shared a Talbot Sunbeam.

Patrick Slattery & Tommy Healy recovered from a non finish on the 2nd loop to finish 48th overall thanks to help from few crews in the service area.

An excellent day had by all. Kerry Motor Club would like to thank the management of Ballybeggan Park and Congratulate newly appointed Clerk of the Course Jason Brick on a well run event.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column width=”1/1″][vc_column_text]

Update No.3

Pat O Connell has a commanding lead over Mike O Connor now by 12.6 seconds. Matt Shinnors now holds 3rd overall with Micheal O Connor Snr having made the decision to retire and save the car he is sharing with Micheal Jnr.

Corks Derek Butler has taken over 5th place with Tralee’s Darren Young holding 6th only 1.6seconds behind Butler, guaranteeing a battle to the finish with the 4th loop about to start.

Graham Kelliher of E&D, Abbeycourt Tralee is enjoying the use of PJ O Dowds Talbot Sunbeam.

Listellicks Pat Slattery and Tommy Healy have got going again with the help of their service crew and fellow competitors.

Kenmare’s Edwards Gibbons holds 24th in class while Rathmore’s John Hickey has lost time with a non run on the 3rd loop due to mechanical issues.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column width=”1/1″][vc_column_text]

Update No.2

Pat O Connell of Cashel Tipperary has extended his lead of the 2014 Kerry Motor Club Rallysprint at Ballybeggan Park.

Pat who is using his 2013 winning Mitsubishi Evo is 5.5seconds ahead of Moyvane’s Mike & Sinead O Connor who have jump ahead of his father Mike Snr who is 3.9sec back in 3rd.

Darren Young/ Sean Walsh hold the top Kerry Crew position in 6th overall.

Tralee’s Pat Slattery is currently working frantically on his Honda Civic having not finished his second run with driveshaft problems.

Rathmore’s John Hickey is holding 9th overall in his Subaru powered 4×4 Ford Escort

Listellick’s PJ O Dowd continues to entertain here at Ballybeggan with his sideways style ![/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column width=”1/1″][vc_column_text]

Update No.1

After 1st run of the Kerry Motor Club Rallysprint 2014 Pat O Connell leads in his Mitsubishi Evo 9 by 2seconds from Mike O Connor Snr with his son Mike Junior in 3rd overall a further 00.5 seconds behind.

Top Locals after the 1st run in a Honda Civic are Tralee’s Darren Young & Sean Walsh.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column width=”1/1″][vc_column_text]

I am text block. Click edit button to change this text.