[vc_row][vc_column width=”2/3″][vc_column_text]Last Saturday night the 3rd of January 2015 saw the Annual Plasticbags.ie Southern 4 Championship Prizegiving take place in the Celtic Ross Hotel, Roscarbery. A great night was had by all who attended and there was a group present to celebrate Kerry MC member Kenneth Quirke winning the Junior Championship overall.

Kenneth collected the award for overall Junior winner while Jenney Warren, who navigated for 4th place Chris Brady, won overall Junior navigator. Andrew Beamish was also there on the night to collect his Class 16/B driver award. The tough competition all year between Kenneth Quirke and Andrew Beamish meant that it went down to the last event and unfortunately there can only be one winner. In the end Kenneth Quirke scooped the first place win by a mere 3 points. There was great sportsmanship, competition and of course banter between the two drivers both during the year and on the night and Andrew wished Kenneth all the best in the future.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][vc_column width=”1/3″][vc_single_image image=”4640″ border_color=”grey” img_link_target=”_self” img_size=”medium”][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column width=”1/4″][vc_single_image image=”4649″ border_color=”grey” img_link_target=”_self” img_size=”medium”][/vc_column][vc_column width=”3/4″][vc_column_text]Stephen Carey in his Honda Civic was the first overall winner on the night, and he showed that this year the championship was all about the clubman. He finished the year ahead of Brian O Keeffe in his Subaru. The COC’s for each of the six events in the Southern 4 Championship also received an award on the night as a token of appreciation from the committee.

Paul Nagle was the special guest on the night, explaining what it is like to be a navigator in a World Rally Team like Citroën. A special word of thanks was given on the night to Skibbereen & District Car Club whom invited the Southern 4 Rally Championship to join their annual dinner dance to host the awards night in conjunction with the Carberry Plastics Skibbereen & District Car Club Championship.

After an exciting and sometimes testing year of rallying it’s a great achievement for all competitors, drivers and navigators, competing for class awards at each event and seeing how the points stack up to be honored with awards on the night. We all know the excitement, the rush, the teamwork and unfortunately the heartbreak involved in this sport we love so much.

[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column width=”1/1″][vc_column_text]Kenneth would like to say a special thank you to the following:

Martin Quirke (My Dad) who’s help I couldn’t have done without this year, forever indebted! Martina Quirke, Mike Nelligan, John Hurley, Ger O’Brien and anyone else who gave a hand throughout the year, and of course the Service Manager – Breda Quirke (My Mom) who keeps everyone under control and happy.

Sponsors – Hankook Performance Tyres, Kingdom Fast Fit, Tracta Motors, Bernard Collins Landscapes, E&D, Surf and Sail and Rally Focus Media.

I’m extremely lucky and thankful for the huge support I have been given this year, it’s a huge help especially from Hankook Performance Tyres (Tractor Motors) they have been more than generous.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column width=”1/1″][vc_single_image image=”4653″ border_color=”grey” img_link_target=”_self” img_size=”700×525″ alignment=”center” style=”vc_box_rounded”][/vc_column][/vc_row]